Global Innovation Guidelines Oct. 28 2020| 0 KB

Content Type: FIRST LEGO League Challenge
Tags: Awards

Who can participate in the FIRST LEGO League Global Innovation Award?
Only FIRST LEGO League teams registered for the current season are eligible. Teams must be in compliance with all current FIRST LEGO League rules in order to receive their regional nomination to submit their Project Innovative Solution for Award consideration. Teams must receive a regional nomination to submit; FIRST LEGO League does not accept submissions from individual teams. Tip for Success: Focus on the Innovative Solution criteria on the Project Rubric.

When is the Global Innovation Award competition?
The competition runs annually with the current FIRST LEGO League season; there are two runners-up and one winner per Challenge season. The top twenty (20) Semi-Finalist teams will travel to the event in mid-late June held in the United States to participate in final judging, innovation-focused workshops and activities, and an Awards Ceremony, where the winner and two runners-up will be announced.

How does my region determine who receives the one regional nomination?
If your region is utilizing an alternate process (see below region list), then your local FIRST LEGO League organizers will communicate how your region will determine its nominated team(s).  If not, regions will nominate the top ranked team in the Innovative Solution Project Award category at their Championship(s). Each region receives 1-4 regional nominations to the Global Innovation Award, aligned with the volume of total teams in their region.

Can I still win another award if I receive the FIRST LEGO League Global Innovation Award nomination?
Since this is a nomination, a team may win an award and still receive a nomination to submit their solution. You do not need to win any other awards to receive the Global Innovation Award nomination. You do not need to reach any robot performance hurdles. You simply need an innovative and stellar solution for this year’s Project.

Regions/Countries with a Variation

Most regions will nominate the top-ranked Innovative Solution team(s) from their Championship(s). Regions/Countries with a Variation are listed below:

Adventist Robotics League
British Columbia  
California - Central
California - Northern
Florida - Central
Florida - Northeast
Florida - South
France (West Side Robot Lab)
Greece (EDUAct)
India – South (Edutech India Private Ltd)
New Mexico
New York - New York City
South Carolina
Spain (Fundacion Scientia)
Tennessee - East

Award Resources

Guide for FIRST LEGO League teams interested in aspiring for the Award and especially teams who receive their regional nomination. Includes questions nominated teams will be asked when they submit.

Terms & Conditions
The legal fine print for participating.

Global Innovation Award Rubric
All regional nominees and our 20 Semi-Finalists will be evaluated by judges utilizing this tool.


  • The twenty (20) Semi-Finalist teams will participate in a 2-day celebratory event which will include advice and access to resources relevant to pursuing their Project Innovative Solution and building life-long innovative thinking skills, such as marketing, intellectual property, presentation literacy, and more.
  • The winner will receive a cash prize of USD $20,000. The two (2) runners-up will each receive a cash prize of USD $5,000. The teams must agree to use the prize money to further develop the team’s invention and/or to support team activities related to FIRST programs.

Get inspired!  Helpful tools, tips, and inspiring reads to help you innovate.

  • USPTO Science of Innovation Video: What is Innovation
  • Read the Innovation tips blog post from our FIRST LEGO League Innovation Ambassadors.
  • USPTO Video: Dean Kamen talks about inventing in the National Inventors Hall of Fame during the Sixth Annual Global Innovation Award on June 22, 2016.
  • The MARS Discovery District in Ontario helped us out at the Sixth Annual Global Innovation Award.  They have a wealth of information in their library on entrepreneurship that could be valuable to innovative teams thinking about making their inventions a reality, like Business Model Design, How to Build a Great Pitch, and more.
  • A business model canvas is not required for the Global Innovation Award, but printing out and working on a canvas together with your team can help you consider implementation factors for your Innovative Solution.  Here is a short video describing the business model canvas as a tool. 

Please see the Patent Resources page for basic intellectual property information and a non-legal guide for applying for a patent.

Back to Innovation page