FIRST LEGO League Challenge Awards

FIRST LEGO League Challenge Awards

Champion’s Award

This award recognizes a team that embodies the FIRST LEGO League experience, by fully embracing our Core Values while achieving excellence and innovation in both the Robot Game and Project.

How do judges select teams for awards or to advance to the next tier of events?  Check out the Judging Rubrics and Judging FAQ.

Robot Awards

Mechanical Design
This award recognizes a team that designs and develops a mechanically sound robot that is durable, efficient and highly capable of performing challenge missions.
This award recognizes a team that utilizes outstanding programming principles, including clear, concise and reusable code that allows their robot to perform challenge missions autonomously and consistently.
Strategy & Innovation
This award recognizes a team that uses solid engineering practices and a well- developed strategy to design and build an innovative, high performing robot.
Robot Performance
This award recognizes a team that scores the most points during the Robot Game. Teams have a chance to compete in at least three 2.5 minute matches and their highest score counts.

Project Awards

This award recognizes a team that utilizes diverse resources to formulate an in-depth and comprehensive understanding of the problem they have identified.
Innovative Solution
This award recognizes a team’s solution that is exceptionally well-considered and creative, with good potential to solve the problem researched.
This award recognizes a team that effectively communicates the problem they have identified and their proposed solution to both the judges and other potential supporters.

Core Values Awards

This award celebrates a team that is empowered by their FIRST LEGO League experience and displays extraordinary enthusiasm and spirit.
This award recognizes a team that is able to accomplish more together than they could as individuals through shared goals, strong communication, effective problem solving and excellent time management.
Gracious Professionalism®
This award recognizes a team whose members show each other and other teams respect at all times. They recognize that both friendly competition and mutual gain are possible, on and off the playing field.

Judges Awards

During the course of competition the judges may encounter teams whose unique efforts, performance or dynamics merit recognition. Some teams have a story that sets them apart in a noteworthy way. Sometimes a team is so close to winning an award that the judges choose to give special recognition to the team. Judges Awards allow the freedom to recognize remarkable teams that stand out for reasons other than the Core Award categories. Examples include:
Against All Odds or Overcoming Adversity or Perseverance
This award goes to the team that improvises and overcomes a difficult situation while still making a respectable showing, with an attitude that shows, “We can overcome incredible odds if we never give up, no matter what!”
Rising Star
This award recognizes a team that the judges notice and expect great things from in the future.

Special Recognition Awards

Outstanding Volunteer Award
The FIRST LEGO League program would not exist without its volunteers. This award honors an extraordinary volunteer(s) whose dedication to the program has a positive impact on the team experience.
Coach/Mentor Award
Coaches and mentors inspire their teams to do their best, both as individuals and together. This award goes to the coach or mentor whose leadership and guidance is clearly evident and best exemplifies the FIRST LEGO League Core Values.